DE / EN

Mannheim Laboratory for Experimental Economics

The Mannheim Laboratory for Experimental Economics (mLab) is a research group dedicated to fostering our understanding of human decision making in various situations of relevance to economics. Theoretical as well as empirical methods, in particular experiments, aid us in achieving this goal. We conduct decision-making experiments both online and in person in our laboratory.

  • Earn money playing games

    Our experiments are not about vague tasks or hypothetical questions. The decisions of our subjects have real consequences – because real money is at stake! (No worries though: WE pay YOU, not the other way around!) Join us, contribute to our research, register with us – and earn some Euros on the side! For a typical 1h-experiment – which is a fun experience anyway – we pay on average 10–15 Euros for your participation. Registering does not commit you to anything – all that happens is that you will receive invitations from us by email to participate in particular studies. You are completely free to accept such invitations or to ignore them. You can also ask us to remove you from our list at any time.

  • How to find us

    You’ll find mLab in B6 (School of Business Informatics and Mathematics) in room A202 (2nd floor).

    Route description

Experimental economics is a relatively young branch of empirical economic research but has already grown into a well-established method that is employed world-wide to test economic theories, to discover fundamental patterns in behavior and to develop incentive mechanisms that serve the common good. Economists conduct experiments for the same reason as physicists or chemists: To examine something very thoroughly under controlled and clean laboratory conditions. The only difference is that the object of investigation is not a subatomic particle or a chemical substance but human decision making. We are therefore constantly looking for paid volunteers as participants in our experiments.

The mLab

Registration

We examine the human decision-making process in economically relevant situations. Register here and contribute to science!

How to find the lab

The mLab is located inB6, A202 – in the building of the School of Business Informatics and Mathematics. Here you'll find the route!

Impressions from the mLab

Take a look behind the scenes at mLab. Our pictures show, among other things, how an experiment is conducted.

Team

Get to know the mLab team! Here you will find all the necessary contact details and information.

Kontakt

Dr. Andrej Svorenčík

Dr. Andrej Svorenčík

Lab Manager mLab
University of Mannheim
Department of Economics
L7, 3–5 – Room 4.06
68161 Mannheim
Consultation hour(s):
by appointment

DE / EN

Mannheimer Labor für experimentelle Wirtschafts­forschung

Das Mannheimer Labor für experimentelle Wirtschafts­forschung (mLab) ist eine Forschungs­gruppe, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, den menschlichen Entscheidungs­findungs­prozess in wirtschaft­lich relevanten Situationen besser verstehen zu lernen. Theoretische und empirische Methoden, besonders Experimente, helfen dabei, dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Die Entscheidungs­experimente führen wir online und auch vor Ort in unserem Computer­labor durch.

  • Spielend Geld verdienen

    Bei unseren Experimenten geht es nicht um vage Aufgaben oder hypothetische Fragen. Die Entscheidungen unserer Probanden haben reale Auswirkungen – denn es geht um echtes Geld! (Aber keine Sorge: WIR bezahlen DICH, nicht anders herum!) Mach auch du mit, trage zu unserer Forschung bei, registriere dich bei uns – und verdiene dir spielend ein paar Euros dazu! Für ein typisches Ein-Stunden-Experiment, das auch noch Spaß macht, zahlen wir durchschnittlich etwa 10 bis 15 Euro aus. Die Registrierung verpflichtet dich zu nichts – sie führt lediglich dazu, dass du von uns Einladungen per E-Mail erhältst, an bestimmten Studien teilzunehmen. Es steht dir völlig frei, solche Einladungen anzunehmen oder zu ignorieren. Du kannst dich auch jederzeit wieder aus unserer Liste entfernen lassen.

  • So findest du uns

    Du findest das mLab in B6 (Gebäude der Fakultät für Wirtschafts­informatik und Mathematik) und dort im Raum A202 (2. Stock).

    Zur Wegbeschreibung

Die experimentelle Wirtschafts­forschung ist noch ein relativ junger Zweig der empirischen Volkswirtschafts­lehre, hat sich aber bereits als eine wichtige Methode etabliert, die weltweit eingesetzt wird, um ökonomische Theorien zu testen, fundamentale Verhaltensmuster zu entdecken und um Anreizmechanismen zu entwickeln, die dem Gemeinwohl dienen. Volkswirte führen Experimente aus dem gleichen Grund durch, aus dem auch Physiker oder Chemiker dies tun: Um etwas sehr sorgfältig unter kontrollierten und sauberen Laborbedingungen zu erforschen. Der einzige Unterschied ist, dass der Gegenstand der Untersuchung nicht ein subatomares Teilchen oder eine chemische Substanz ist, sondern menschliches Entscheidungs­verhalten. Wir suchen daher immer Freiwillige, die gegen Bezahlung an unseren Experimenten teilnehmen.

Das mLab im Überblick

Anmeldung

Wir untersuchen den menschlichen Entscheidungs­findungs­prozess in wirtschaft­lich relevanten Situationen. Melden Sie sich hier an und helfen Sie mit!

So finden Sie uns

Das mLab befindet sich in B6, A202 – im Gebäude der Fakultät für Wirtschafts­informatik und Mathematik. Hier finden Sie eine Wegbeschreibung!

Impressionen aus dem mLab

Werfen Sie einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des mLab. Unsere Fotos zeigen unter anderem, wie ein Experiment abläuft.

Team

Lernen Sie das mLab-Team kennen! Hier finden Sie alle nötigen Kontaktdaten und Informationen.

Seminare

Hier finden Sie die Workshops und Seminare, die das mLab organisiert und anbietet.

Forschung

Unsere Forschungs­themen und -ergebnisse auf einen Blick: Publikationen, Arbeits­papiere und Projekte.

Kontakt

Dr. Andrej Svorenčík

Dr. Andrej Svorenčík

Lab Manager mLab
Universität Mannheim
Abteilung Volkswirtschafts­lehre
L7, 3–5 – Raum 4.06
68161 Mannheim
Sprechstunde:
nach Vereinbarung