DE / EN

Professor of Public Finance and Economic Policy

Prof. Eckhard Janeba

Prof. Eckhard Janeba

Eckhard Janeba is a professor of economics at the University of Mannheim, Germany. He is a member of the Board of Academic Advisors to the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. In December 2013, he became Chairman of the Independent Advisory Board to the German Stability Council. Eckhard Janeba is a member of various networks and policy circles, such as the  Collaborative Research Center 884: Political Economy of Reforms  funded by the German Science Foundation, the CESifo network, the Oxford University Center for Business Taxation, the  ZEW  in Mannheim.

Eckhard Janeba’s career started in Germany where he obtained a Diploma degree (1990) and a Ph.D. (1994) in Economics at the University of Bonn. He then moved to the U.S. and worked as an Assistant Professor of Economics at the Indiana University in Bloomington (1994-1999) and as an Assistant / Associate Professor (with tenure) of Economics and International Affairs at the University of Colorado in Boulder (1999-2004). In 2004, he returned to his native Germany and became a professor of economics with specialization in public economics and international trade.

Eckhard Janeba’s main fields of interest in research and teaching are public finance, international trade, and the impacts of globalization on government action. His research has appeared in a broad range of academic outlets such as the American Economic Review, European Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics, Journal of International Economics and Economic Journal.

Curriculum Vitae (CV)          Publications

    Contact

  • Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba

    Prof. Eckhard Janeba

    Prof. Eckhard Janeba

    Professor of Public Finance and Economic Policy
    University of Mannheim
    Abteilung Volkswirtschaftslehre Professur für VWL, Finanzwissenschaft und Wirtschaftspolitik
    L7, 3-5 – Room 2.29
    68161 Mannheim
    Consultation hour(s):
    during lecture period: Wed 9 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
    during semester break: by appointment
  • Office

    Chair of Public Finance and Economic Policy

    Chair of Public Finance and Economic Policy

    Office
    University of Mannheim
    Abteilung Volkswirtschaftslehre
    L 7, 3-5 – Room 227
    68161 Mannheim
    Opening hours:
    Mon-Thu 8:00 a.m. – noon
    Gabriele Zorell

    Gabriele Zorell

    Office, Professorship of Public Finance and Economic Policy
    University of Mannheim
    Department of Economics
    Public Finance and Economic Policy
    L 7, 3-5 – Room 227
    68161 Mannheim
    Phone: +49 621 181-1794
    E-mail: g.zorell(at)uni-mannheim.de
    Web: www.vwl.uni-mannheim.de/janeba

Professur für Finanz­wissenschaft und Wirtschafts­politik

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba ist seit 2004 Professor für Volkswirtschafts­lehre an der Universität Mannheim. Er ist Mitglied des Wissenschaft­lichen Beirats beim Bundes­ministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie und war von 2013 bis 2018 Vorsitzender des unabhängigen Beirats beim Stabilitätsrat. Darüber hinaus ist er in mehreren wissenschaft­lichen Forschungs­verbünden eingebunden, u.a. im Sonderforschungs­bereichs 884: Political Economy of Reforms an der Universität Mannheim, dem  CESifo Forschungs­netzwerk, dem Oxford University Center for Business Taxation und dem ZEW Mannheim.

Die akademische Laufbahn von Eckhard Janeba führte über den Abschluss als Diplom-Volkswirt an der Universität Bonn (1990) und der Promotion (Dr. rer. Pol.) zum Thema International Tax Competition an der gleichen Universität (1994) in die USA. Dort war er Assistenzprofessor an der Indiana University in Bloomington (1994-1999) und im Anschluss daran an der University of Colorado in Boulder (1999-2004) tätig, zuletzt als Associate Professor für Volkswirtschafts­lehre und Internationale Beziehungen (mit „tenure“).

Prof. Janebas Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre befinden sich in den Bereichen Finanz­wissenschaft, Außen­handel und Auswirkungen der Globalisierung auf staatliches Handeln. Eckhard Janeba hat in vielen internationalen Zeitschriften publiziert, dar­unter im American Economic Review, European Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics, Journal of International Economics und Economic Journal.

Lebenslauf (CV)      Publikationen      Forschungs­video